Tokyo, unradiated


By Sierra Shear

Please keep your spam out of my sushi. Unfortunately, I recently witnessed Guy Fieri promoting a restaurant that serves a piece of spam between two layers of rice wrapped in seaweed. The product seemed like something that developed during times of rationing. Mom would say, “Sorry kids, all they had at the grocery store was Spam, rice, and seaweed. I didn’t know what to do so I made you a sandwich.”

Not only does Spam stain the shelves of supermarkets across America, but the “meat” also embodies protein’s furthest departure from its natural state. Spam’s archrival, sushi, should maintain the pure, fresh flavor of one of my favorite proteins, fish. While Tokyo Japanese Restaurant in Oklahoma City might look, well, battered from the street, inside it serves extremely high-quality and affordable seafood. Sorry all of you carcinogen fiends; it’s just fish, no sodium nitrate.

My relationship with Tokyo Japanese Restaurant stretches all the way back to the days of high school. Every Wednesday I met my parents for lunch at blue-roofed house-turned-sushi-bar. My dad and I feasted on Chirashi, a Japanese sushi dish comprised of pieces of nigiri, egg, and salmon skin resting on a bed of sushi rice. Chirashi was the Wednesday lunch special, which pushed the price down to around nine bucks for a, not to sound crude, massive amount of fish. As Charlie Sheen would say, “winning”.

Over spring break my family was not lucky enough to make it to Tokyo on a Wednesday, so last Saturday we ordered from the regular lunch menu. Tokyo provides a reasonably priced menu in addition to the lunch specials that change daily. My brother and I ordered “Sushi B,” which includes six pieces of nigiri sushi (tuna, 2 salmon, eel, shrimp and yellow tail) as well as 8 pieces of California Roll. The roll was well sized, but still just a California Roll. The fish, however, was perfectly raw.

My dad ordered “Sushi Deluxe,” which comes with tuna, octopus, shrimp, yellowtail, crabstick, tilapia, salmon, smelt roe, eel, and, like any good sushi combo, 8 pieces of California Roll. Tokyo maintained the high quality across all the types of fish.

My mom chose Salmon Shioyaki, which arrived a few minutes after our sushi. It was only mildly frustrating sitting and waiting and looking at the beautiful box of fish while we waited for her meal to arrive. The salmon was well cooked, lightly salted with a crisp skin that she throws to the dogs (also know as my dad, my brother, and me.) Rice and a salad with a classic ginger dressing accompanied her cooked meal. Cold, crisp salad also came as an appetizer with all three sushi lunches.

I’m certainly not an advocate of the “raw food” crazy, but Tokyo serves some delicious uncooked (and cooked) fish. Try the place if you ever end up in the big OK. But, despite a nostalgic affection for my home state and its sushi, I must remind you – HOOK EM HORNS!

Feel free to comment about any recent sporting losses. We’ll kindly remind you that we’re still the #1 party school in the nation.

This entry was posted in Abroad (Outside of Texas), Asian. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tokyo, unradiated

  1. Garbanzo Rielly says:

    OMG!! Like, that place sounds, like, totally awesome!! And I caught some of your totally funny wordings and stuff. You are the BEST on the WEB!!

  2. Waltraut Ptack says:

    In the case of your love of sushi, you are a victum of what we scientists call “the bad seed”

  3. Waltraut Ptack says:

    IN THE CASE OF YOUR LOVE FOR SUSHI YOU ARE A VICTUM OF WHAT THE SCIENTIFIC WORLD CALLS ‘THE BAD SEED’

    Deo Volenti

  4. Loved your blog! we are more than happy to hear and read about people’s experiences here at Tokyo, it makes us smile :)!

Leave a Reply

